My “Floating World” Tarot Project

I have admired the Ukiyo-e Tarot by Koji Furuta for many years. It’s a beautiful Marseilles-based tarot with original images inspired by Japanese woodblock prints. The Major Arcana and court cards (like the Queen of Cups) depict scenes from pre-20th century Japanese life: royalty, actors, or geisha. This is the “fleeting, floating world” of Ukiyo-e prints. The “pips” (as cards ace through ten of each suit are called) feature sake cups, coins, samurai swords, and wands.

Image

My love of Japanese woodblock prints began when I was a child. My grandmother admired and collected these beautiful works of art. She taught me the styles of the masters: Utamaro’s courtesan paintings, Hokusai, Hiroshige. She even gave me one of her treasures: a beautiful book of Ukiyo-e art with lots of color plates.

Image

For these reasons, the Ukiyo-e Tarot has been on my “wishlist” for years. Unfortunately, it went out-of-print before I could buy a copy. Used decks became outrageously expensive as others admired it too!  I began to imagine creating my own Ukiyo-e style tarot. Like the Furuta/Kaplan deck, it would feature un-illustrated minors with figures on the Major Arcana and court cards.  I’m not a professional artist, but love to draw. Each card contains images borrowed from famous woodblock prints or 19th century Japanese photos.

Image

These are the first five sketches of minor arcana cards: Ace of Cups, Ace of Swords, Two of Swords, Three of Swords, and Four of Swords. I tested out colors on one of the sketches (top) with pastel pencils.

Image

I’ll post again as I have “finished” cards.  I’d love to hear what you think!

aceofswords_edited-2

This entry was posted in card creation, cards, floating world tarot, tarot and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My “Floating World” Tarot Project

  1. hfmudd says:

    3 of your suits are martial art weapons. Swords , Staff’s = wands & Shurikens = pentacles, leaving you with cups that represented with Koi “ Fish = water = Cup’s” if that makes since.

  2. Interesting about the shurikens being pentacles. I don’t know much about martial arts weapons. Very helpful insight. Thanks!

  3. jameswells says:

    Note:
    U.S. Games is re-publishing the Ukiyo-e Tarot. Hooray!

    • Yes, I was thrilled to get a copy! It also seems to have brought the price of the older versions down to a more reasonable level. Thanks for letting me know – I don’t think they are selling any on Amazon. It’s almost a secret.

Leave a Reply

